Proposed Readoption with Amendments of N.J.A.C. 6A:6, State Board of Education Rulemaking Process

The following is the accessible version of the proposed readoption with amendments of N.J.A.C. 6A:6. The adoption level document includes three sections – <u>comment and response form</u>, <u>summary of the proposed rulemaking</u> and <u>text of the chapter's rules and proposed amendments</u>.

State Board of Education Administrative Code Comment/Response Form

This comment and response form contains comments from and since the May 5, 2021, meeting of the State Board of Education (State Board) when the proposal was considered at proposal level.

Topic: State Board of Education Rulemaking Process Meeting Date: September 8, 2021

Code Citation: N.J.A.C. 6A:6 Level: Adoption

Division: Office of the State Board of Education Completed by: Office of the State Board

of Education

Summary of Comments and Agency Responses

The Department did not receive comments on the proposed readoption with amendments of N.J.A.C. 6A:6, State Board of Education Rulemaking Process.



Trenton, NJ 08625-0500

PHILIP D. MURPHY
Governor
Shell A. V. OLIVER

SHEILA Y. OLIVER Lt. Governor

Adoption Level September 8, 2021

ANGELICA ALLEN-MCMILLAN, Ed.D. *Acting Commissioner*

To: Members, State Board of Education

From: Angelica Allen-McMillan, Ed.D.

Acting Commissioner

Subject: N.J.A.C. 6A:6, State Board of Education Rulemaking Process

Reason for Action: Readoption with amendments

Authority: N.J.S.A. 18A:4-15 and 52:14B-1 et seq.

Sunset Date: June 3, 2022

Summary

The Department of Education (Department) proposes to readopt N.J.A.C. 6A:6, State Board of Education Rulemaking Process, with amendments. This chapter informs the education community and the public of the State Board of Education's and the Department's procedures for promulgating and amending rules in Title 6A of the New Jersey Administrative Code. The chapter also provides a procedure for an interested person to petition the State Board to create, amend, or repeal a rule. The chapter was scheduled to expire on December 5, 2021. As the Department filed this notice of readoption with the Office of Administrative Law prior to that date, the expiration date of the chapter was extended 180 days to June 3, 2022, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 52:14B-5.1.c(2).

The chapter complies with the Administrative Procedure Act (APA), N.J.S.A. 52:14B-1 et seq., which governs the rulemaking activities of the Department and all other State agencies by providing a uniform application and administration of the rulemaking process. The statutory requirements are implemented by N.J.A.C. 1:30, Rules for Agency Rulemaking, and administered by the Office of Administrative Law (OAL).

The State Board of Education (State Board) is the policymaking body of the Department acting on recommendations from the Commissioner to make, enforce, modify, or repeal rules that carry out the school laws enacted by the New Jersey Legislature. Rulemaking can also be initiated by the State Board based upon a change in agency policy, an executive order issued by the Governor, a court decision, a rulemaking petition from an interested person, an imminent danger or peril, or a Federal requirement.

The State Board considers proposed amendments, repeals, and/or new rules at public meetings using a rulemaking process that can take up to 12 months. The State Board fulfills its role as a liaison to the public by conducting its business at public meetings, pursuant to the Senator Byron M. Baer Open Public Meetings Act (OPMA), N.J.S.A. 10:4-6 et seq.

As a lay board, one of the State Board's primary roles is to provide a link between the Department and parents, teachers, administrators, taxpayers, education associations, and other agencies for the benefit of New Jersey's students. The State Board values public input and, therefore, the chapter gives the public and stakeholders adequate notice of anticipated rulemaking activity and provide opportunities for public participation in the rulemaking process. The State Board's rulemaking process has always incorporated APA requirements and allowed for an even greater opportunity for public notice and participation than required by statute and rule.

Although the APA requires only written comment, the State Board schedules public testimony sessions where the public appears before a panel of State Board members to testify about a proposed rulemaking. The comments received at public testimony sessions are shared with all the State Board members and the Department's responses to the comments become an integral part of official rulemaking documents. Three times each year, the State Board schedules an "open topic" public testimony session so members of the public can speak to the State Board about an educational issue of their choice, including any issue related to Title 6A, except for matters that are the subject of litigation.

Due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, the State Board has been holding virtual meetings and receiving written public testimony about New Jersey Administrative Code rulemakings currently under its consideration.

The State Board and the Commissioner are committed to the idea that stakeholders have the right to be heard and they jointly agree to give the education community and the public additional time whenever they determine that a rulemaking would benefit from extending the process.

N.J.A.C. 1:30 and the APA also require the Department to promulgate a process to receive and respond to a rulemaking petition from an interested person requesting an amendment, repeal, or new rule at Title 6A. In accordance with N.J.A.C. 1:30-4, N.J.A.C. 6A:6-4 defines the steps a petitioner must take to initiate a rulemaking petition before the State Board and the Commissioner.

The following is a summary of the rules proposed for readoption and the proposed amendments. Unless otherwise stated, amendments are proposed to update statutory references or for grammatical improvement or clarity.

Subchapter 1. General Provisions

N.J.A.C. 6A:6-1.1 Scope

This section sets forth the chapter's scope, which includes the State Board's rulemaking process and the process by which an interested party can submit a petition to adopt a new rule or to amend or repeal an existing rule in Title 6A of the New Jersey Administrative Code.

N.J.A.C. 6A:6-1.2 Definitions

This section defines terms used in the chapter to help the public understand the State Board's rulemaking process.

Subchapter 2. Notification of Rulemaking Activity

N.J.A.C. 6A:6-2.1 Notice of State Board meeting dates and rulemaking activity

This section sets forth the manner in which the public is notified of State Board meeting dates and rulemaking activity. The State Board annually adopts by resolution a calendar of meeting dates that include the State Board's public monthly meetings, work sessions, and public testimony sessions. The State Board also provides, on its monthly public meeting agenda, notice of new rules, amendments, or repeals to be discussed or acted upon. The Department posts on its website both the calendar of meeting dates and the rulemakings to be discussed or acted upon.

Subchapter 3. State Board Rulemaking Process

N.J.A.C. 6A:6-3.1 State Board rulemaking process

This section sets forth the State Board's rulemaking process and all of the steps involved in considering, proposing, and adopting new rules, amendments, repeals, or readoptions. The rulemaking process is codified as follows:

Policy Discussion Paper

The Department may prepare a policy discussion paper and present it to the State Board and to stakeholders for input before documents related to a new rule, amendment, repeal, or readoption are presented formally at a State Board meeting for consideration.

Discussion Level Document

The Department develops a discussion level document for a new rule, amendment, repeal, or readoption and presents it to the State Board at a public meeting. A discussion level document includes a summary memo, chapter table of contents, rule text, and a comment response form, when applicable. The State Board can place the discussion level document on its agenda for one or more public meetings, allow a written comment period of at least 30 days, and/or take public testimony before the corresponding notice of proposal is approved and published in the New Jersey Register.

Proposal Level

Upon the Commissioner's recommendation, the State Board discusses and votes at a public meeting to publish a notice of proposal in the New Jersey Register to promulgate new rules, amendments, or repeals pursuant to the APA. The State Board takes oral testimony on a proposal after it is discussed at a public meeting and published in the New Jersey Register. The State Board provides notice of the proposed rulemaking at least 30 days before the close of the comment period through methods other than publication in the New Jersey Register through the Department's distribution of the notice of proposal or a statement of the proposed action's substance to people who have requested notice of the State Board's rulemaking activity and to news media maintaining a press office in the State House Complex.

The Department also posts on its website the notice of proposal or a statement of the proposed action's substance and distributes it to a list of stakeholders. The Department further utilizes the distribution to the news media of a press release regarding a filed notice of proposal as the additional method of publicity required by the APA.

Adoption Level

Upon the Commissioner's recommendation, the State Board discusses and votes at a public meeting to publish a notice of adoption in the New Jersey Register to promulgate new rules, amendments, or repeals pursuant to the APA.

Extended Comment Period and Public Hearings

The section allows the President, in consultation with the Commissioner, to extend for 30 days the comment period of a proposed rulemaking due to sufficient public interest. The rules stipulate that sufficient public interest for extending the comment period exists when the comments received do one of the following: reveal a previously unrecognized impact on a regulated party; go beyond the scope of comments previously considered by the State Board during the current rulemaking process; or raise unanticipated issues related to the notice of proposal.

The section allows an interested person to seek a public hearing on a particular rulemaking. The rules stipulate that sufficient public interest for the purpose of holding a public hearing on a proposed rulemaking is demonstrated if the President, in consultation with the Commissioner and upon review of the application, determines within 45 days of the notice of proposal's publication that additional data, findings, and/or analysis regarding the notice of proposal are necessary for the State Board to review prior to adoption to ensure the notice does not violate the intent of its statutory authority. The section also requires a public hearing on a notice of proposal to be conducted in accordance with the APA. The rules further establish the process for the hearing officer's recommendations to be presented to the State Board and acted upon.

N.J.A.C. 6A:6-3.1(g) allows the President, in consultation with the Commissioner, to consider an application of an interested person who seeks a public hearing on a particular rule-making. The rule also requires the application to be submitted within 30 days of the notice of proposal's publication in the New Jersey Register. It also requires the application to be submitted on a Commissioner-prescribed form. N.J.A.C. 6A:6-3.1(g)1 directs interested persons to file an application for a public hearing with the State Board Office, while N.J.A.C. 6A:6-3.1(g)1i, ii, and iii stipulate the information that must be in the application. The Department proposes to amend N.J.A.C. 6A:6-3.1(g) and (g)1 to replace "application" with "request" or "request for a public hearing" and to delete references to "a Commissioner-prescribed form." The Department also proposes to amend N.J.A.C. 6A:6-3.1(g) to add that a request must be submitted "in writing." The Department further proposes to amend N.J.A.C. 6A:6-3.1(g)1 to add the email address to which an interested party can submit request. The proposed amendments will enable an interested party to request a public hearing on a rulemaking without having to submit a specific application and to do so via email.

Subchapter 4. Petitions for Rulemaking

N.J.A.C. 6A:6-4.1 Preparation of rulemaking petition by petitioner

This section sets forth the process for an interested person to file a petition to adopt a new rule or to amend or repeal an existing rule at Title 6A of the New Jersey Administrative Code. The section requires the petitioner to include as part of a petition for rulemaking the following information: the petitioner's name, mailing and/or email address, and phone number; the substance or nature of the rulemaking request; the reasons for the request and the petitioner's interest in it; and references to the agency's authority to take the requested action. The section also stipulates that the petitioner may include in the petition the text of the proposed new, amended, or repealed rule.

N.J.A.C. 6A:6-4.1(d) allows the petitioner to submit the rulemaking petition to the State Board Office in person, through the office's mailing or email addresses, or through the petition for rulemaking webpage. The Department proposes an amendment to update the office's email address.

N.J.A.C. 6A:6-4.2 Department response to a petition for rulemaking

This section sets forth the process for the State Board and the Department to respond to an interested person who has filed a petition to adopt a new rule or to amend or repeal an existing rule at Title 6A of the New Jersey Administrative Code. The rules require the Department, within 15 days of receipt of the rulemaking petition, to file with the OAL for publication in the New Jersey Register a notice of the petition. The section also sets forth the required contents of the notice.

The rules also require the President, in consultation with the Commissioner, to determine the course of action for responding to the petition as one of the following: deny the petition, grant the petition, or refer the matter for further deliberation. The course of action must be determined within 60 days of the rulemaking petition's receipt. If the petition is denied, the Commissioner must provide the petitioner with a written statement as to the reasons for the denial and include them in the notice of action filed with the OAL. If the petition is granted, the section requires a rulemaking to be initiated within 90 days of the approval. In either case, the President and the Commissioner must notify the State Board of the action taken. If the petition is referred for further deliberation, the petitioner must be notified of the referral's nature, a notice of action must be filed with the OAL, and the deliberations must conclude within 90 days. The Commissioner also must provide, in writing, the petitioner with the results of the deliberation and must file with the OAL the results for publication in the New Jersey Register.

Appendix. State Board of Education Rulemaking Process

The chapter appendix provides an overview of the State Board's rulemaking process.

As the Department has provided a 60-day comment period in this notice of proposal, this notice is excepted from the rulemaking calendar requirement, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-3.3(a)5.

Social Impact

The rules proposed for readoption with amendments set forth the State Board's rulemaking process and comply with the APA. The State Board's rulemaking process includes early notification to the education community regarding rulemakings. The process also includes extensive public input while rules, amendments, and/or repeals are developed, discussed, and considered. All State Board discussions and actions to publish notices of pre-proposal, proposal, or adoption take place at regularly scheduled State Board meetings that are open to the public, pursuant to the OPMA. The State Board's approach to rulemaking fosters an on-going dialogue between the regulated public and State Board members. This kind of exchange improves the quality of the rules that are developed and ensures interested persons can actively participate in the rulemaking process. This process results in an overall positive impact on students, teachers, parents, taxpayers, school districts, and administrators.

Early public notice of rulemaking allows the regulated parties to participate in the process and to prepare for the possibility of changes in rules. Advanced notice of new rules, amendments, and/or repeals that will have a significant impact on the regulated parties often provides much needed planning time for implementation and compliance once the new rules, amendments, and/or repeals have been adopted.

Economic Impact

The economic impact of the rules proposed for readoption with amendments can be determined only on a case-by-case basis. The decision to submit comments or to attend a public

testimony session or a State Board meeting is strictly voluntary and the anticipated costs depend on individual factors related to the interested party or association.

The decision to submit a petition for rulemaking or to request a public hearing also is voluntary and any anticipated cost should be considered by the petitioner before choosing this method to address an issue related to Title 6A of the New Jersey Administrative Code. The Department contends that the cost to prepare and deliver a petition is insignificant.

Federal Standards Statement

There are no Federal laws, rules, or regulations that impact the rules proposed for readoption with amendments; therefore, a Federal standards analysis is not required. N.J.A.C. 6A:6 is based on State statutes that establish the chapter's authority.

Jobs Impact

The rules proposed for readoption with amendments will result in neither the generation nor the loss of jobs in the State.

Agriculture Industry Impact

The rules proposed for readoption with amendments will have no impact on the agriculture industry.

Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

The rules proposed for readoption with amendments do not impose reporting or record-keeping requirements upon small businesses, as defined under the Regulatory Flexibility Act, N.J.S.A. 52:14B-16 et seq. The rules inform the public, including small businesses, of the State Board's rulemaking process and the requirements for submitting a petition for rulemaking or requesting a public hearing on a proposed rulemaking. While the rules contain certain requirements related to the contents of a petition or a hearing request, they impose very minimal costs on the petitioner, and should not require the need for professional services. As the petition process and hearing requests are voluntary and impose only insignificant costs, no differentiation in requirements based upon petitioner or requestor business size is made.

Housing Affordability Impact Analysis

The rules proposed for readoption with amendments will have an insignificant impact on the affordability of housing in New Jersey. There is an extreme unlikelihood the rules proposed for readoption with amendments would evoke a change in the average costs associated with housing because the rules proposed for readoption with amendments concern the State Board's process for promulgating, amending, and readopting education regulations at Title 6A of the New Jersey Administrative Code.

Smart Growth Development Impact Analysis

The proposed rules for readoption with amendments will have an insignificant impact on smart growth. There is an extreme unlikelihood the rules proposed for readoption with amendments would evoke a change in housing production in Planning Areas 1 or 2, or within designated centers, under the State Development and Redevelopment Plan in New Jersey because the rules proposed for readoption with amendments concern the State Board's process for

promulgating, amending, and readopting education regulations at Title 6A of the New Jersey Administrative Code.

Racial and Ethnic Community Criminal Justice and Public Safety Impact

There is an extreme unlikelihood that the rules proposed for readoption with amendments would have an impact on pretrial detention, sentencing, probation, or parole policies concerning juveniles and adults in the State because the rules proposed for readoption with amendments concern the State Board's process for promulgating, amending, and readopting education regulations at Title 6A of the New Jersey Administrative Code.

Full text of the chapter's rules and the proposed amendments follows (additions indicated in boldface **thus**; deletions indicated in brackets [thus]):

N.J.A.C. 6A:6, State Board of Education Rulemaking Process

Table of Contents

Subchapter 1. General Provisions

6A:6-1.1 Scope

6A:6-1.2 Definitions

Subchapter 2. Notice of Anticipated Rulemaking Activity

6A:6-2.1 Notice of State Board meeting dates and rulemaking activity

Subchapter 3. State Board Rulemaking Process

6A:6-3.1 State Board rulemaking process

Subchapter 4. Petitions For Rulemaking

6A:6-4.1 Preparation of rulemaking petition by petitioner

6A:6-4.2 Department response to a petition for rulemaking

Appendix

Chapter 6. State Board of Education Rulemaking Process

Subchapter 1. General Provisions

6A:6-1.1 Scope

This chapter sets forth the rulemaking process for the State Board of Education of New Jersey pursuant to Administrative Procedure Act (APA), N.J.S.A. 52:14B-1 et seq., as amended under P.L. 2013, c. 259. This chapter also establishes, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 52:14B-4(f), rules that apply to all persons interested in making a petition to adopt a new rule or to amend or repeal an existing rule in Title 6A.

6A:6-1.2 Definitions

The following words and terms shall have the following meanings when used in this chapter unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Act" means the Administrative Procedure Act, N.J.S.A. 52:14B-1 et seg.

"Discussion level document" means a draft of a summary memo and rule text to be discussed by the State Board prior to the notice of proposal.

"New Jersey Register" means the journal of New Jersey State agency rulemaking published by the Office of Administrative Law pursuant to N.J.S.A. 52:14B-7(b).

"Notice of adoption" means the document described [in] at N.J.A.C. 1:30-6.1 that must be submitted to the Office of Administrative Law [for filing] and then published in the New Jersey Register. When it is presented to the State Board at a public meeting, a notice of adoption includes a summary memo and rule text and a comment/response form that contains the Department's responses to comments received during the comment period.

"Notice of proposal" means the document described [in] at N.J.A.C. 1:30-5.1 that must be submitted to the Office of Administrative Law [for filing] and then published in the New Jersey Register and distributed to the Legislature and interested persons. When it is presented to the State Board at a public meeting, a notice of proposal includes a summary memo and rule text.

"Person" means any individual, association, board, venture, partnership, corporation, organization, institution, and governmental instrumentality recognized by law for any purpose.

"Policy discussion paper" means a paper prepared by Department staff that sets forth the broad policy issues related to a proposed new rule, amendment, or repeal.

"Pre-proposal" means a preliminary proceeding for the purpose of eliciting ideas, views, and comments of interested persons on a contemplated rulemaking proceeding, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-5.3(b).

"President" means the President of the State Board of Education or, in the President's absence, the Vice President.

"Public hearing" means a legislative-type proceeding that is conducted either as part of a rule-making or to consider a potential rulemaking and that affords the public an opportunity to present the State Board and/or Department with oral and written comments, arguments, data, and views on the rulemaking or the contemplated rulemaking.

"Public testimony session" means a Department forum at which a panel of State Board members has the opportunity to listen to comments from interested persons regarding new rules, amendments, and/or repeals.

"Rulemaking process" means the systematic process followed by the State Board for the development and promulgation of rules. The process includes activities the State Board deems

necessary to develop and promulgate rules, including, but not limited to, activities designed to meet the requirements of the Act and N.J.A.C. 1:30, Rules for Agency Rulemaking.

"Stakeholder" means any individual, group, or association that will be directly impacted by the force and effect of the proposed new rule, amendment, or repeal.

"State Board" means the New Jersey State Board of Education.

"Work session" means a State Board forum, conducted in compliance with the **Senator Byron M. Baer** Open Public Meetings Act **(OPMA)**, N.J.S.A. 10:4-[1]6 et seq., at which the State

Board and the Commissioner discuss a policy discussion paper, pre-proposal, or other issues that require an in-depth discussion.

1. The State Board may also take formal action at a work session to vote on an item of action requiring notice to the public pursuant to the [Open Public Meetings Act, N.J.S.A. 10:4-1 et seq] **OPMA**.

Subchapter 2. Notice Oof Anticipated Rulemaking Activity

6A:6-2.1 Notice of State Board meeting dates and rulemaking activity

- (a) The State Board shall adopt annually by resolution a calendar of meeting dates that include the State Board's public monthly meetings, work sessions, and public testimony sessions. The Department will post the calendar of meeting dates on its website at http://www.state.nj.us/education/. The Department will distribute the calendar of meeting dates to school districts, the news media maintaining a press office to cover the State House Complex, education associations, and other interested persons.
- (b) The State Board shall provide on its monthly public meeting agenda notice of new rules, amendments, or repeals to be discussed or acted upon. In addition, the Department will

- post on its website at http://www.state.nj.us/education/ new rules, amendments, and repeals to be discussed or acted upon by the State Board.
- (c) The Department may publish in the New Jersey Register quarterly calendars of the Department's anticipated proposed rulemaking activities, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-3. If developed, the calendars shall be amended as necessary in accordance with N.J.A.C. 1:30-3.2.
 - 1. If **it is** developed, the Department will include a copy of the quarterly rulemaking calendar on the Department's website at http://www.state.nj.us/education/.
 - 2. If **it is** developed, the Department will provide notice of the availability of its quarterly rulemaking calendar in the same manner as it publicizes its proposed rulemakings pursuant to N.J.A.C. 6A:6-3.1(d) and 1:30-5.2 to inform persons most likely to be affected or interested by the proposed rules.
 - 3. As an alternative to calendar publication requirements under this subsection, the Department may determine to use one of the five calendar exceptions available to it pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-3.

Subchapter 3. State Board Rulemaking Process

6A:6-3.1 State Board rulemaking process

- (a) The Department may prepare a policy discussion paper and present it to the State Board and to stakeholders for input before documents related to a new rule, amendment, or repeal are presented to the State Board for consideration.
- (b) The Department may develop a discussion level document for any new rule, amendment, or repeal and present it to the State Board. The State Board may decide to:
 - 1. Place the discussion level document on the State Board's monthly agenda at one or more public meetings in accordance with the **Senator Byron M. Baer** Open Public Meetings Act, [(]N.J.S.A. 10:4-[1]6 et seq.[)];

- 2. Provide a written comment period of at least 30 days for the discussion level document; and/or
- 3. Take oral testimony at one or more public testimony sessions scheduled after the State Board reviews the discussion level document at a public meeting and before the notice of proposal is published in the New Jersey Register pursuant to the Act. The State Board also accepts written comment at this time.
- (c) Based upon the Commissioner's recommendation, the State Board shall determine at a public meeting to publish a notice of proposal in the New Jersey Register to promulgate new rules, amendments, or repeals pursuant to the Act.
 - The State Board may take oral testimony at one or more public testimony sessions scheduled after the proposal is discussed at a public meeting and published in the New Jersey Register.
 - 2. The State Board may choose to extend the comment period on a notice of proposal.
- (d) The State Board, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-5.2, will provide additional notice of the proposed rulemaking at least 30 days prior to the close of the comment period using the following methods:
 - 1. The Department will distribute either the notice of proposal, as filed, or a statement of substance of the proposed action to persons who have made timely requests of the State Board for notice of its rulemaking activity and to the Department's electronic mailing list;
 - The Department will distribute the notice of proposal, as filed, or a statement of the proposed action to the news media maintaining a press office in the State House Complex;
 - 3. The Department will post the notice of proposal on the Department website at:

 http://www.state.nj.us/education/;

- 4. The Department will distribute the notice of proposal to a list of stakeholders; and
- 5. The Department will undertake an additional method of publicity other than publication in the New Jersey Register, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-5.2, through distribution of a press release to the news media.
- (e) Based upon the Commissioner's recommendation, the State Board shall discuss and vote at a public meeting to publish a notice of adoption in the New Jersey Register to promulgate new rules, amendments, or repeals pursuant to the Act.
- (f) The President, in consultation with the Commissioner, may extend for 30 days the comment period on a proposal published in the New Jersey Register. Sufficient public interest for the purposes of extending the comment period, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-5.4, shall be demonstrated if the President, in consultation with the Commissioner, determines within 30 days of the publication date of the proposal that any of the following criteria has been satisfied:
 - 1. Comments received reveal a previously unrecognized impact on a regulated party;
 - Comments received go beyond the scope of comments previously considered by the State Board during the rulemaking process related to the notice of proposal; or
 - 3. Comments received raise unanticipated issues related to the notice of proposal.
- In determining whether sufficient public interest has been demonstrated for purposes of conducting a public hearing, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-5.5, the President, in consultation with the Commissioner, shall consider the [application] request of an interested person. [that has been submitted on a Commissioner-prescribed form.] The [application] request for a public hearing shall be submitted, in writing, within 30 days following the notice of proposal's publication in the New Jersey Register[.] and shall comply with the following requirements:
 - 1. A person interested in a public hearing on a notice of proposal shall submit [an application, on a Commissioner-prescribed form,] **a request** to the State Board

Office, New Jersey Department of Education, River View Executive Plaza, Building 100, PO Box 500, Trenton, NJ 08625-0500 or through email to state-boardoffice@doe.nj.gov. The [application] request for a public hearing shall contain the following information:

- The person's name, address, phone number, and agency of association (if applicable);
- ii. The citation and title of the proposed rule and the date the notice of proposal was published in the New Jersey Register; and
- iii. The reasons a public hearing regarding the notice of proposal is considered necessary pursuant to (h) below.
- (h) Sufficient public interest for the purpose of holding a public hearing, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-5.5, shall be demonstrated if the President, in consultation with the Commissioner and upon review of the [application] **request for a public hearing**, determines within 45 days of the notice of proposal's publication date that additional data, findings, and/or analysis regarding the notice of proposal are necessary for the State Board to review prior to adoption to ensure the notice of proposal does not violate the intent of the statutory authority.
- (i) A public hearing on a notice of proposal shall be conducted in accordance with N.J.A.C.1:30-5.5.
 - The Commissioner shall present the hearing officer's recommendations, made pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-5.5(f), at a State Board public meeting, pursuant to the Senator Byron M. Baer Open Public Meetings Act, N.J.S.A. 10:4-[1]6 et seq. The State Board shall act upon the Commissioner's recommendation to accept, reject, or modify the hearing officer's recommendations.

- 2. The hearing officer's recommendations and the State Board's decision to accept, reject, or modify the recommendation(s) shall be summarized and published in the New Jersey Register, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-5.5(g).
- (j) The Department shall make available on its website at www.state.nj.us/education all notices of rulemaking activity and public hearing, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 52:14B-3, and shall distribute the notices through its electronic mailing list, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 52:14B-4.

Subchapter 4. Petitions for Rulemaking

6A:6-4.1 Preparation of rulemaking petition by petitioner

- (a) An interested person may petition the State Board to adopt a new rule or amend or repeal an existing rule set forth in Title 6A.
- (b) The petitioner shall submit the following information on a Commissioner-prescribed rule-making petition form:
 - 1. The petitioner's name, mailing and/or e-mail address, and phone number;
 - 2. The substance or nature of the rulemaking request;
 - 3. The reasons for the request and the petitioner's interest in it; and
 - 4. References to the agency's authority to take the requested action.
- (c) The petitioner may include as part of the petition the text of the proposed new, amended, or repealed rule.
- (d) The petitioner may submit the rulemaking petition in one of the following ways: [via] by mail to State Board Office, New Jersey Department of Education, River View Executive Plaza, Building 100, [P.O.] PO Box 500, Trenton, NJ 08625-0500; [via e-mail] through email to [stateboardoffice@doe.state.nj.us] stateboardoffice@doe.nj.gov; or [via] through the Department's website at www.state.nj.us/education/code/petitions.

- (a) The Department will file a notice of petition with the Office of Administrative Law for publication in the New Jersey Register within 15 days of receipt of the rulemaking petition, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-4.1(c). The notice of petition shall include:
 - 1. The name of the petitioner;
 - 2. The substance or nature of the requested rulemaking action;
 - 3. The problem or purpose identified by the petition; and
 - 4. The date the petition was received.
- (b) The President, in consultation with the Commissioner, shall determine within 60 days of the rulemaking petition's receipt the course of action for responding to the petition, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-4.2. The course of action shall be to:
 - Deny the petition, in which case the Commissioner shall provide to the petitioner
 a written statement of the reasons and include the reasons in the notice of action.
 The President and the Commissioner shall inform the State Board if such an action is taken on a petition;
 - 2. Grant the petition and initiate a rulemaking proceeding within 90 days of granting the petition. The President and the Commissioner shall inform the State Board if such an action is taken on a petition; or
 - 3. Refer the matter for further deliberations, the nature of which shall be specified to the petitioner and in the notice of action and which shall conclude within 90 days of the referral. Upon conclusion of further deliberations, the President, in consultation with the Commissioner, shall either deny the petition or grant the petition and initiate a rulemaking proceeding within 90 days. The Commissioner shall mail to the petitioner the results of the further deliberations and submit the results to the Office of Administrative Law for publication in the New Jersey Register.

- (c) Within 60 days of receiving the rulemaking petition, the Department shall mail to the petitioner a notice of action on the petition, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-4.2(b), and shall file it with the Office of Administrative Law for publication in the New Jersey Register. The notice of action shall include:
 - 1. The petitioner's name;
 - 2. The New Jersey Register citation for the notice of petition;
 - Certification by the Commissioner that the petition was duly considered pursuant to law; and
 - 4. The nature or substance of the action upon the petition.
- (d) If the State Board fails to act on the rulemaking petition within the time frames set forth above and in N.J.A.C. 1:30-4.2, the petitioner may request a public hearing by submitting a written request to the Office of Administrative Law, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-4.3.
- (e) The Department shall make available on its website at www.state.nj.us/education all petitions for rulemaking received and all notices of action filed, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 52:14B-3.

Appendix. State Board Of Education Rulemaking Process

The Department may distribute a policy discussion paper to the State Board and stakeholders.

Feedback to the Commissioner about the policy discussion paper is received from the State Board at a work session and also through written or oral comment from stakeholders.

The State Board considers draft rule language at First Discussion level at a State Board monthly meeting.

The State Board considers draft rule language at Second Discussion level at a State Board monthly meeting.

The State Board may add an additional Discussion level of draft rule language.

A public testimony session is held four to six weeks following First Discussion level consideration of draft rule language. Written comment is also accepted.

The State Board considers the Proposal level rule language at a State Board monthly meeting for its approval to publish the proposal in the New Jersey Register.

The notice of proposal is published in the New Jersey Register.

A 30- or 60-day written comment period is available for the public to react to the published proposal.

A 30-day written comment period is permitted only under rulemaking calendar exceptions located at N.J.A.C. 1:30-3.3(a)1 through 4.

A public testimony session is held four to eight weeks following the Proposal level consideration of rule language.

Adoption level rule language is considered by the State Board for its approval to publish the adoption in the New Jersey Register.

The notice of adoption is published in the New Jersey Register to establish the effective date of the adopted rule.